Home setup / EGO batteries and backup power

Decision guideUpdated October 21, 2026Four model options

EGO Nexus Power Station vs. Escape Inverters: what does each one actually do?

Choose between the PAD1500 150W inverter, PAD5000 400W inverter, and PST3040/PST3042 power station by output and charging behavior. These are portable power products, not a substitute for backup equipment rated for medical or critical loads.

Compare output, charging, and kit contents

ModelAC outputCharging detailsPackage
PAD1500Up to 150W. EGO product information does not specify waveform.Two USB-A ports; consult the product page/manual for limits.Inverter only; uses a compatible EGO 56V battery.
PAD5000400W continuous, 800W peak; pure sine wave.100W bidirectional USB-C. EGO documents pass-through charging behavior; this does not make it a UPS.Inverter only; uses a compatible EGO 56V battery.
PST3040Up to 2000W continuous, 3000W peak for less than three seconds; pure sine wave. Maximum continuous output depends on installed batteries.Cannot provide AC or USB output while charging the station batteries.Bare station, no batteries.
PST3042Up to 2000W continuous, 3000W peak for less than three seconds; pure sine wave. Maximum continuous output depends on installed batteries.Cannot provide AC or USB output while charging the station batteries.Kit includes two 7.5Ah EGO batteries.

Peak output describes a short surge rating; it does not guarantee that a particular appliance will start or run. Check the appliance label and its startup requirements against EGO's limits.

Which EGO power option fits your use?

For a compact low-wattage setup: the PAD1500 is the 150W option. Because EGO does not specify its AC waveform in the cited product information, do not assume waveform compatibility for equipment that requires a particular output.

For a higher inverter ceiling: the PAD5000 raises AC output to 400W continuous and 800W peak, with pure-sine output and 100W bidirectional USB-C. Its documented pass-through charging behavior is useful for supported charging use; it is not an uninterruptible power supply.

For higher AC capacity: the PST3040 bare station and PST3042 two-battery kit are rated up to 2000W continuous and 3000W peak for less than three seconds. Available continuous output depends on the installed battery configuration. Choose PST3042 when the included pair of 7.5Ah batteries matches your needs; choose PST3040 when you want the station without included batteries. Never infer runtime from output wattage alone: battery capacity, connected load, conversion losses, and operating conditions all matter.

Check the precise model and package contents in the listing before ordering. Compare the bare station and battery-included kit against the packs you already own.

Buying through our Amazon links costs you nothing extra and helps us keep DadSetup free to read. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Do not treat a portable inverter as essential-load backup

EGO's Nexus Power Station manual prohibits powering medical or other critical devices. Do not rely on these products for a CPAP or other medical equipment, refrigerators, sump pumps, home wiring, or any load whose continuity is essential. This guide does not establish an appliance runtime or guarantee a motor will start.

Do not connect a portable power station to home wiring or a building circuit. Follow the exact product manual for battery installation, operating conditions, and connected loads. If a critical device needs backup, use a solution designed and approved for that purpose and confirm it with the device manufacturer.

The PST3040 and PST3042 cannot supply AC or USB output while their batteries are charging. The PAD5000's documented pass-through behavior is specific to its supported charging arrangement and should not be described as UPS operation.

Common questions

What is the difference between PAD1500 and PAD5000?

The PAD1500 provides up to 150W AC output; EGO's product information does not specify its AC waveform. PAD5000 provides up to 400W continuous and 800W peak pure-sine output, plus 100W bidirectional USB-C and documented pass-through charging behavior.

Can the PAD5000 or Nexus Power Station be used with medical or critical devices?

Do not use these products to power medical or other critical devices. Follow the warnings in the matching EGO manual and use a purpose-built, appropriately rated backup system for essential loads.

Can the PST3040 or PST3042 power appliances while charging?

No. The Nexus Power Station cannot provide AC or USB output while it is charging its batteries. It is not an uninterruptible power supply.

What batteries come with the PST3042 kit?

The PST3042 kit includes two 7.5Ah EGO batteries. The PST3040 is the bare station. Check the current listing and package contents before purchase.

Manufacturer sources